What is your fondest childhood memory? Who was there? What was going on?

I don’t think that there is a single incident that I can say is the top, but there was a time.

Around the end of primary school I had a friend and we went around the playground with the dinner lady pretending that we were policemen on the beat.

The punishment for offenders was tickling to death. My recollection is that we only ever found girls to be offenders. I did, in later life become a police officer, and that was quite a different experience, I doubt that my sergeant would have approved the same methods for the prostitutes on my beat, it might have worked.

I had another friend around the same time who lived just around the corner. He, like me had a surname which matched a football team. So we used to play football in the back garden between the washing lines using the poles as goals at each end. s** v s** . Hours of exercise and healthy competition, first to 10 wins the game.

I do nothing now, I must go back to the gym for a swim sometime, because I liked that, but just got out of the habit of being active.

I have never been sporty, and was the last pick before the guy with a heart condition at school, who no one wanted because he might die and then the team would be one man down.

I spent a lot of time by my-self in the garage learning how to do 3 point turns with my go-cart and playing darts and alone in my bedroom playing with cards and tiddley-winks and action man. I bought a plastic husky with some birthday money for my action-man. I would love a real one now (husky not man), for me, so long as it didn’t howl all night.

Dreaming

Dreaming by Peter Przybille

With the stars from action man accessories you could save them and get another Action Man. I spent my pocket and birthday money on many accessories and when it came to getting my free action man, my parents gave it to my brother. That is unresolved pain. I am still a loner, and begrudge other people getting the reward of my efforts.

Action Man

So my childhood was 40 years ago, but it is still there in what I have become, I am still a child inside, but I am trying to grow up by realising I now need to deal with it.

